My 5 Favorite Fall Nail Polishes

I haven’t done anything beauty related on my blog in over a year. I couldn’t think of a better way to break that streak than talking about nail polish and fall. Yesssss.

Screen Shot 2016-10-28 at 8.44.55 PM.png

I have always loved nail polish. I have great memories of the ritual of picking out the color I wanted as a little girl (metallic lime green, sure thing!) and bringing it to my mom who would paint them after my bath. Growing up with an older sister, we shared (can that word actually be used in the same sentence with your siblings?!) a rectangular shaped vessel that housed all our nail polishes.

And twenty years later…I’m keeping that tradition strong. Makeup? Eh, it’s nice but I could take it or leave it. And I don’t even own ONE hair product besides shampoo (I have crazy low-maintence hair, believe me, I count my blessings) but you bet your bottom dollar I have myself a good helping of nail polishes.

I always feel more put together when my nails are taken care of. As a stay-at-home mama most days I’m in comfy clothes (woot!) but when my nails are painted I still feel like a supermodel. Haha, who am I kidding. But I am all for self-care!

But if you’re not swimming in nail polish like me but still want to stay on trend this fall, you really just need 5 colors to get your through this season: beige or taupe, rustic red, nude, grey or mauve, and a dark (purple, blue, or black).

So. Fall + nail polish? Let’s do this thing!

1. THE BIEGE: CND VINYLUX CLAY CANYON

20160922_135827.jpg

My current favorite, a gorgeous rose beige – riege? This is long-wearing and a great neutral that looks elegant no matter what you’re wearing. And it didn’t chip even after one week! I think it looks extra pretty on longer nails. And, I scored this baby on clearance (holla)!

20160929_215719.jpg

And it’s beautiful on toes too. If I had to null my nail polish collection down to 5 (gasp) but I could include this, I think I’d be okay. Lately my favorites have been neutrals and anything a la minimalistic.

2. THE ROSE TAUPE/RUSTIC RED- SALLY HANSEN INSTA-DRY EXPRESSO

20161009_102115

I felt like I was channelling some inner Teak Rose that lends nostalgic feelings of my mom wearing that shade for decades. Really though, this is a great muddied red. Although red is always in, for fall, a more rustic and warm red, or rose taupe versus a cherry red is perfect! I don’t really agree with the color Expresso though. I’m thinking more like Craisin.

20161002_124443

3. THE NUDE: REVLON COLORSTAY TRADEWINDS

31uc2a0hoyl-_sy355_

dscf2904.jpg

This has been one of my favorite colors for a few years. And this picture was actually taken from this Fall Style post. I can easily get a full week of chip free wear and it looks great at any nail length. You can’t go wrong with a neutral like this! Kind of the “Little Black Dress” of nail polishes.

4. THE GRAY OR MAUVE: SINFUL COLORS MAUVELOUS

20161009_102216

20161009_100602

This color somehow manages to look very grey in some lights and rather purple in others. Precisely why this is perfect for the gray or mauve category! For such an affordable option (like under $2) it really proves quite impressive with its chip resistance.

5. THE DARK: OPI LINCOLN PARK AFTER DARK

NLW42_G_LincolnParkAfterDark_0.png

20161023_101634

In its bottle form, a tint of dark purple comes through, but after two coats applied, it looks nearly black. I definitely felt like I was channelling some Adele. And if anything makes you feel like Adele, then it’s gotta be good, right?! There’s something really sophisticated about this color and it looks great on both short and long nails. However, I wasn’t loving this staying power. I got a chip within 24 hours, fixed it, then it happened again the next day so I took it all off because I have a strict no-chip policy ha!

I should note, I always use a base coat (Wet n Wild makes my favorite for .99) and a top coat (OPI has a nice one) to protect my nails and prolong the wear!

Happy fall!

 

Leave a Reply

